Skip navigation

MUFE Face&Body Liquid

MUFE Face&Body Liquid

From Sephora:
The secret is all in this top-selling formula. This waterproof, ultra-light, water-based gel contains no emulsifiers and provides a totally natural, satin finish. Ideal for normal skin-types as well as for fine lines and large pores. Gives skin a uniform tone without accentuating imperfections. A makeup artist’s favorite.

My Skin Type:
Actually very oily, but surpressed with BHA exfoliator. Results in generally ranging from very dry to normal/combo skin. Generally dehydrated, very sensitive, and acne prone.

My Skin Tone:
Some said I have very fair, Casper-ish complexion. Frankly speaking, that’s what you see in my FOTDs, but I personally think I look (much) darker in person than in those photos. Still, yes, I’m quite fair.

Bottomline: my skintone range is lighter than MAC NC/NW15 to NC/NW20.

I have neutral cool undertone.

Packaging:
See through glass bottle with black plastic cap. The opening of the bottle is wide, so some may have trouble dispensing right amount. The glass bottle may not be suitable for travel.

Color Selection:
Like most MUFE products, color selection is huge. When I bought this years ago, #20 is the lightest color, but now they’ve introduced even paler selections: #36 and #38.

When I finish my #20 bottle, I think I’ll upgrade to #36 or #38 if necessary.

Texture:
Fun gel-liquid type.

Coverage:
Sheer, but seriously, you can build it up to Medium coverage.

Blendability:
Good! The gel-liquid texture is very easily blended.

Application:
Application tool is very important with this foundation. I don’t know why but different tool can bring huge difference in the end result.

My favorite tool for this foundation is my Lancome Foundation Brush. It works fine with fingers and sponge, but with a traditional foundation brush, I can really built the coverage and refine my pores.

Finish:
Semi-matte.

Oil Control:
I’d say so-so. When I have oilier t-zone, I have to wear lighter moisturizer underneath.

My General Review:
My first ever high end foundation. I bought this wayy back, in my college years :P And up until now, amidst all other foundations I’m trying, I still come back to it! So that says something :D

I bought this since I was tired of drugstores and mid-level foundations not giving me the finish I wanted. I told you that I used to have terrible acne in my young days, so I’m kinda obsessed with flawless skin; even until now :P At first this stuff is not at all amazing. I tried applying it with fingers and sponge. The result was good, but nothing too good. But wait! I sometimes get compliments like “you look rested”. Or “your skin looks even better today!”. Now that says something for my dull face.

Then I experiment with Lancome Foundation Brush, for a family dinner. Oh. My. Goodness. The result is impeccable. The more I blend, the higher the coverage is. And because the color is neutral, the I didn’t look jaundiced even with the medium+ coverage. Plus, my pores literally erased. My face looked airbrushed. No joke, I think the skin is magazine worthy, without all the Photoshop retouch. The finish is so good I dare not to powder it. It’s best on its own. It’s the first time I go out without setting my face with a dusting of powder.

Subsequent experiments found that I can’t achieve same result everytime. But if my skin is well-rested, not stressed out, well moisturized, and the foundation is applied with a Foundation Brush, I can re-create the flawless look once again. And by flawless, I mean flawless. Not just covering, it’s also refining. It gives the illusion of perfect, healthy skin. The best a foundation has ever give me. I don’t know why night only though. Maybe my skin is more relaxed, maybe the temperature has gone down so my skin doesn’t have to battle with UV rays? Probably. Strange but true!

On mornings, when I apply my makeup in a rush, plus the sunscreens I use may interfere with makeup, I can’t get the best result with this stuff. But still, I can adjust the coverage from sheer to light, it doesn’t oxidize, and it refines the texture of my skin. Everytime I use it to work, I never feel it’s very good, but again….sometimes compliments come when I use this foundation. Guess it works after all!

Regarding the skin type, I think this stuff is true to its claim. It’s most appropriate to Normal skin. By experience, Combinational skin; slightly oily, slightly dry skin, can tolerate this product also. There are also some success stories from oilier skin, yet dehydrated in the surface. Not for super oily skin, or excessively dry skin though. I can look like prunes when I have very dry skin and force my skin to take it.

One last thing, this stuff claims to be waterproof. It doesn’t slide if I perspire and all, but it’s easily removed with a good cleansing milk or cleansing oil :) It’s quite hassle free.

What Else You Need To Know:
Tip from Dany Sanz, the founder of MUFE: “This foundation is also formulated for the body. Apply a fine layer, let dry three minutes, then blot the excess with a tissue before getting dressed.”

BTW, on my day face, MUFE F&B gives very similar finish to the Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation SPF15. Both have broad color selection, but Bobbi gives you SPF. So it has slight edge for day activities, given that it reinforces my sunscreen underneath. And Bobbi is fragrance-free.

So from the comparison above, maybe it’s best for me if I save MUFE F&B for night, and use BB Skin Foundation for day? :D But yeah, MUFE F&B is much more cost effective.

Price:
I don’t remember the exact price. It’s around IDR300,000 though. Sephora retails this at USD32.

For 50ml of high end foundation, that’s not exactly absurdly expensive.

Availability:
Easily accessible in department stores that carry MUFE line, like SOGO or Debenhams. MUFE also has exclusive boutiques at Plaza Indonesia and Dharmawangsa.

Ingredients:
Water, Mineral Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Phenoxyethanol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanolamine, Magnesium Myristate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance.

May Contain: Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.

Overall Rating:
5 out of 5. This product is old, but it has the potential. I always have it in my arsenal.

*This review will be cross posted in http://www.makeupalley.com under username Crescent_Shadow.

8 Comments

  1. I’ve been curious about this foundation for along time. MUFE HD is a little too thick, but this sounds very lightweight! Will have to swatch and get color matched =) Thanks for the review

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted December 17, 2009 at 1:40 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      hi! yep, try a sample if you can :) it’s indeed lightweight, but can be build up without being cakey :)
      somehow MUFE HD is not all that special on my pores. don’t know why :D

      btw, your blog is awesome!

  2. LOVE! probably my #1 favorite foundation to date ;)

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted December 18, 2009 at 11:55 am
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      woah! it’s that good on you? soo glad i recommended it everywhere years ago, hahaha.

        • anya beaute
        • Posted December 19, 2009 at 10:05 pm
        • Permalink

        yes, so far! :)

        • wonderfulwortelworld
        • Posted December 21, 2009 at 9:31 am
        • Permalink

        so glad the recommendation didn’t go to waste :D

  3. wait…yours contains mineral oil??? i just looked at mine and did not see that listed as an ingredient on my bottle. what country did you buy yours in? perhaps the formula is different in other parts of the world…

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted December 20, 2010 at 6:40 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      indonesia, long time ago (more than couple of years). n by the time i bought it, everywhere in the world it also contains mineral oil. i have checked it in MUA before i bought that.
      perhaps they’ve changed the formula now? they never announce any re-formulation though, as long as i know.

      this is the ingredients list in sephora:
      Aqua, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Cycolentasiloxane, Methylpropanediol, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Mangifera Indica Seed Oil (Mango Seed Butter), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Tetrasodium EDTA, Fragrance, PEG-8, Phenoxyethanol, Tromethamine, Potassium Myristate, Chlorphenesin, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Caprylyl Glycol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Panthenol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Limonene, Citronnellol, Geraniol, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionene. May Contain: CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 777493 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).

      no mineral oil. is this the same as your version?


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Here is the original: Review: Make Up For Ever Face&Body Liquid Foundation « Wonderful … [...]

  2. By FOTD(ecade) « Wonderful Wortel World on 28 Dec 2009 at 2:47 pm

    [...] White Radiance Moisturizing Cream + MUFE Face & Body Liquid Foundation (mixed to create my personal TM). T.LeClerc Loose Powder in Nacre. TBS Cheek Colour #4 Golden Pink. [...]

  3. [...] me, this is very similar to MUFE Face & Body. And we all know what a popular foundation that is The difference is, MUFE F&B is better  for [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

