Skip navigation

Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder -- Translucent

Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder -- Translucent

From http://www.lauramercier.com:
Laura Mercier Loose Setting Powder is an extremely lightweight, sheer & silky setting powder that contains the finest French “cashmere” talc & a unique light-reflecting ingredient that creates a “soft-focus” appearance for fine lines & imperfections.

  • Sets makeup to prolong wear
  • Adds a velvety finish to any makeup or a bit of colour and coverage when foundation is not worn
  • Looks natural & never cakey or powdery
  • Oil-Free
  • 1.0 oz./29g

Need a more convenient solution? Try our travel-friendly Mini Translucent Loose Setting Powder.

In Style Best Beauty Buy – Best Powder – April 2008

My Skin Type:
Actually very oily, but surpressed with BHA exfoliator. Results in generally ranging from very dry to normal/dry skin. Generally dehydrated, very sensitive, and acne prone.

My Skin Tone:
Some said I have very fair, Casper-ish complexion. Frankly speaking, that’s what you see in my FOTDs, but I personally think I look (much) darker in person than in those photos. Still, yes, I’m quite fair.

Bottomline: my skintone range is lighter than MAC NC/NW15 to NC/NW20.

I have neutral cool undertone.

Packaging:
Standar plastic jar with plastic sifter. May be messy to be transported.

Color Selection:
Small. 1 translucent color which should work for most skin tones, and 2 more pigmented options: Ivory and Beige. I used the transparent one.

Texture:
Fine! It’s more finely milled than NARS LP. Drier to the touch too. In terms of texture, I like this (much) better than NARS.

On the other hand, for talc-based powder, MUFE Super Matte LP may be more discreet. It may still be the best, but LM Loose Setting Powder comes close in second place.

Coverage:
Like all finely milled powdesr, this provides sheer coverage only.

Blendability:
Very  good! Due to the fine and dry texture. Again, it’s better than NARS in this department.

Finish:
Matte. And smoother finish on the pores, compared to NARS.

Oil Control:
I used to think that LM provides (much) better oil control compared to NARS…due to the reviews in MakeupAlley. Plus, some people say that LM is drying. But I was wrong! Now that my skin is on the oilier side, both LM and NARS performs well. On me, both have same oil control, which is pretty good.

My General Review:
I’ve always wanted to try this popular powder, but was afraid that it would dry out my skin. So when my skin is (finally) oilier again, I ordered this in a heartbeat :D

From the description above, you may conclude that it’s better than NARS LP. Well….almost. I’m sad to say that it fails in the one of most important department: color match.

I picked out the Translucent one hoping that it would work for my fair skin. And it didn’t! It’s too beige and tad dark…making my face looks duller than it should be :( It may work for NC20+, but anyone fairer than that, I recommend you to try out NARS Snow; it works much better for my skin tone.

What Else You Need To Know:
I’ve read that color range in Laura Mercier complexion products is not really good for fairer skin, and after I tried out this LP, I’m more convinced than ever that it’s true. I don’t have LM near me so I can’t test it out, but from the reviews and swatches, I can’t find a match either in their Mineral powder and liquid/cream foundations.

Why LM? While you have such great products in your arsenal! Expand your color selection…pretty please?

Application:
I usually apply this with a flocking puff. LM also advises us to use their puff, but it won’t work for everyone. Just try applying it with a brush and a puff, and see which finish you prefer.

Price:
US$34 for 29grams. Not that bad…considering that you’ll only need a little bit to cover your whole face. Still, NARS is more cost effective :D

Availability:
Sadly, Laura Mercier is not available in Indonesia, nor in Singapore. I think it’s available in Malaysia?

Anyway, I CPed this from US.

Ingredients:
Talc, Magnesium Myristate, Nylon-12, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Lauroyl Lysine, Methicone, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Ultramarines (CI 77007), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

Overall Rating:
4 out of 5. This would be a definite winner if the color range is better. But in the mean time, I am forced to pick NARS Snow over this.

Test this first if you can. If you can find a color that matches you, that I highly recommend you to buy it.

*This review will be cross posted in http://www.makeupalley.com under username Crescent_Shadow.

5 Comments

  1. great review!

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted August 14, 2009 at 11:00 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      as usual, i hope it helps others! :)

  2. I bow down to the loose powder queen!

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted August 14, 2009 at 11:02 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      barely babe, i think you’ve tried more than i do! suqqu? mufe hd? sofina primavista? covermark? beautymaker? and some more i believe :D

      anyway, hope this review helps!

  3. Good information sharing

    I have an article entitled “Lowering Your Cholesterol With Medications” at my blog which will be useful reading.

    Hope this will help someone in fighting the high triglycerides level


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

