Skip navigation

The name that Lancome come up with this product sure is mouthful… :P

Lancome Hydra Zen Neurocalm Soothing Anti-Stress Moisturizing Gel Essence

Lancome Hydra Zen Neurocalm Soothing Anti-Stress Moisturizing Gel Essence

From Lancome:
Concentrated Moisture, Intense Relief.

Its original and incredibly fresh texture brings intense hydration, immediately and for 24 hours.

Deliciously hydrated, skin recovers comfort, softness and luminosity.

My Skin Type:
Ranging from very dry to normal/combo. Generally dehydrated, very sensitive.

Packaging:
Elegant pink pump bottle. Practical and travel friendly.

Texture:
Quite thin gel that melts into liquid in contact with skin.

My General Review:
What can I say, Lancome? You’re owned by L’Oreal, and my skin never agree with you guys. I’ve tried several Lancome skincare product. It’s not as irritating as L’Oreal’s, but Lancome skincare products never made an impact on my skin. They lacks real technology, real research-proven ingredients.

This gel essence is very light in texture, so it’s pleasant to use, but I see nothing more than that. It helps moisturizing my skin, but no more. No no great moisturization that leads to smoother, more radiant skin whatsoever. I never believe in the anti-stress claim anyway…

Just like other Lancome product, it’s heavily fragranced. Some floral fragrance. Sensitive skin, beware. But it didn’t do any harm to my skin though, maybe I was careful enough to balance this product with my other non-irritating skincare.

Application:
I apply several drops before moisturizer.

Availability:
I get this one off-store, and I can’t seem to find this product in Lancome Singapore’s website, nor in Sephora US? Is this product not available in Asia/US? No idea…

Price:
No Lancome product is a bargain, of course. I see this going on around EUR39.50 for 30ml.

Ingredients:
Mine is just a deluxe sample size, so no complete ingredient list available :(

Anyway, Lancome likes to boast oriental-sounding ingredients, which usually turns out to be nothing, if you scrutinize the ingredient list. Here’s their claim:

Boosted Hydration: 4 times more moisturising microcapsules to instantly rehydrate thirsty skin.

Intense Soothing: Enriched with NeuroCalm precious plant complex – Rose de France, Mu Dan Pi, Moringa -Hydra Zen NeuroCalm Gel Essence helps to fight the effects of environmental and emotional stress on skin.

Overall Rating:
3 out of 5. Expensive moisturizing gel. If you love Lancome and  have money to burn, you can buy this. Otherwise, I think you’re better off with serums from Estee Lauder or Clinique. They’re the most advanced, as far as the proven researches concern.

*This review will be cross posted in http://www.makeupalley.com under username Crescent_Shadow.

6 Comments

  1. I don’t like their scents!! Haha

    • hahaha the floral scent? maybe it can be too grandma-ish for some, lol!

  2. i have a really sensitised dehydrated skin and this serum helped plump my skin. it is fabulous as i can see my skin get really soft and supple. and i love the subtle scents in lancome’s skincare as opposed to the no fragrance in clinique and pungent smell of estee lauder.

    i guess what works for one may not work for another.

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted September 13, 2009 at 11:07 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      glad if it works for you! sadly, my sensitive skin can’t take too much fragrance, otherwise it can be sensitized. it will oxidize! :(
      so i really prefer the no fragrance feature in clinique or paula’s choice. they really improve my skin visibly.

  3. i tried ur product the hydra zen neurocalm soothing anti -stress moisturising range and the soin hydratant anti stress ,,so when i use both My skin become red with a feeling of burning.. am using it only for a week..so is it normal for this to happen?

      • wonderfulwortelworld
      • Posted April 27, 2010 at 1:59 pm
      • Permalink
      • Reply

      i’d say discard it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

